Prize of the Böttcherstraße   29.08. – 01.11.2020

Prize of the Böttcherstraße in Bremen 2020

The Kunsthalle Bremen presents ten young and promising positions in contemporary art. Distinguished curators such as Johan Holten, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung and Bettina Steinbrügge have nominated ten artists from the German-speaking area. Their works can be seen in the Kunsthalle Bremen in an exhibition from 29 August to 1 November 2020.

This year the jury has awarded the Prize of the Böttcherstraße to Ulrike Müller.

Due to the current restrictions, the award ceremony with artist Ulrike Müller, who lives in the USA, could not take place as planned. Instead, there was a short artist talk on Instagram.

In addition, there was a one-hour „Gesprächszeit“ (interview) with Ulrike Müller on the radio Bremen Zwei.

The “Prize of the Böttcherstraße in Bremen” is among the leading and highest awards in the field of contemporary art in Germany. The competition features 30,000 Euro in prize money for the winner and, in 2020, it was held for the 47th time in the Kunsthalle Bremen. A prominent jury determines the winner of the prize during the course of the exhibition.

The following ten artists have been nominated for the 2020 Prize of the Böttcherstraße in Bremen:

Bani Abidi (born 1971 in Karachi, Pakistan, lives in Berlin), nominated by Natasha Ginwala, Gropius Bau, Berlin

Nevin Aladağ (born 1972 in Van, Turkey, lives in Berlin), nominated by Johan Holten, Kunsthalle Mannheim

Jesse Darling (born 1984 in Coventry, UK, lives in Berlin and London), nominated by Dr. Andrea Schlieker, Tate Britain, London

Toulu Hassani (born 1984 in Ahwaz, Iran, lives in Hanover), nominated by Stifterkreis des Kunstpreis der Böttcherstraße, Bremen

Janine Jembere (born 1985 in Magdeburg, lives in Vienna), nominated by Dr. Yvette Mutumba, Contemporary And (C&) and Universität der Künste, Berlin

Anne Duk Hee Jordan (born 1978 in Korea, lives in Berlin), nominated by Dr. Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung, SAVVY Contemporary, Berlin

Ulrike Müller (born 1971 in Brixlegg, Austria, lives in New York), nominated by Prof. Dr. Christoph Grunenberg, Kunsthalle Bremen

Henrike Naumann (born 1984 in Zwickau, lives in Berlin), nominated by Severin Dünser, Belvedere 21, Vienna

Raphaela Vogel (born 1988 in Nuremberg, lives in Berlin), nominated by Thomas D. Trummer, Kunsthaus Bregenz

Stefan Vogel (born 1981 in Fürth, lives in Leipzig), nominated by Prof. Dr. Bettina Steinbrügge, Kunstverein in Hamburg

f.l.t.r.: Bani Abidi (photo: Schokofeh Kamiz), Nevin Aladag, Jesse Darling (photo: Christa Holka), Toulu Hassani (photo: Volker Crone), Janine Jembere (© Sebastian Bodirsky), Anne Duk Hee Jordan, Ulrike Müller (© Katja Illner), Henrike Naumann (photo: Henrike Naumann), Raphaela Vogel (photo: Jane Eyre), Stefan Vogel

The Jury 2020:

Yilmaz Dziewior, Director Museum Ludwig, Cologne
Fabrice Hergott, Director Musée d'Art moderne de la Ville de Paris
Stephanie Rosenthal, Director Gropius Bau, Berlin
Christoph Ruckhäberle, Artist, Professor of painting/graphics Academy of Fine Arts Leipzig
Susanne Titz, Director Museum Abteiberg, Mönchengladbach

The Prize of the Böttcherstraße in Bremen

The art prize has been awarded for over sixty years. Since 1985 the prize and the exhibition has been presented in the Kunsthalle Bremen with the support of the Donors’ Circle (Stifterkreis) of the Kunstverein in Bremen (Bremen Art Association). They have also made possible the purchase of a work by each of the prize’s winners. The Kunsthalle Bremen has thus been able to expand its collection through significant works by Martin Honert, Ólafur Elíasson, Wolfgang Tillmans, Tino Sehgal, Ulla von Brandenburg, Thea Djordjadze or Daniel Knorr and Nina Beier, among others. Every two years, ten distinguished curators each independently select one artist from the German-speaking area.