Pauli Prize 2024   24.08 – 13.10.2024

Pauli Prize 2024

After almost 50 years, the Prize of the Böttcherstraße has been renamed and will now be known as the Pauli Prize. Eight artists have been nominated for this year’s Pauli Prize. The prize will be awarded for the 49th time in 2023. With an award of 30,000 Euros, it is one of the leading awards in the field of contemporary art in Germany. It is presented to artists living in the German-speaking language area for their outstanding contributions to contemporary art which hasn’t received the recognition it deserves.

Six prestigious curators, the director of the Kunsthalle Bremen, and the Donors’ Circle for the Pauli Prize each independently nominate an artist whose work will be displayed in an exhibition from 24 August to 13 October 2024. Over the course of the show, a renowned international jury will determine the award winner. In the past years, winners have included Karimah Ashadu (2022), Ulrike Müller (2020), Arne Schmitt (2018), Emeka Ogboh (2016), Nina Beier (2014), Daniel Knorr (2012), Thea Djordjadze (2009), Ulla von Brandenburg (2007), Clemens von Wedemeyer (2005), Tino Sehgal (2003), Olafur Eliasson (1997) and Wolfgang Tillmans (1995).

The following eight artists have been nominated for the 2024 Pauli Prize:

Katrin Brause (*1972 in Leipzig, lebt und arbeitet in Leipzig), vorgeschlagen von Anna Wesle, Museum Franz Gertsch, Burgdorf/ Schweiz

Benjamin Hirte (*1980 in Aschaffenburg, lebt und arbeitet in Wien), vorgeschlagen von Severin Dünser, freier Kurator, Wien

Christof John (*1984 in Hannover, lebt und arbeitet in Köln), vorgeschlagen von Dr. Roland Mönig, Von der Heydt-Museum, Wuppertal

Annika Kahrs (*1984 in Achim, lebt und arbeitet in Hamburg und Berlin), vorgeschlagen vom Stifterkreis des Pauli-Preises, Kunstverein in Bremen

Marcus Neufanger (*1964 in Nürnberg, lebt und arbeitet in Schwäbisch Hall), vorgeschlagen von Prof. Dr. Christoph Grunenberg, Kunsthalle Bremen

Cemile Sahin (*1990 in Wiesbaden, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin), vorgeschlagen von Mirjam Varadinis, Kunsthaus Zürich

Gabriele Stötzer (*1953 in Emleben, lebt und arbeitet in Erfurt), vorgeschlagen von Hilke Wagner, Albertinum, Dresden

Jenna Sutela (*1983 in Turku, Finnland, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin), vorgeschlagen von Stefanie Böttcher, Kunsthalle Mainz


The Jury 2024:

Dr. Yilmaz Dziewior, Direktor des Museum Ludwig, Köln
Johan Holten, Direktor der Staatlichen Kunsthalle Mannheim
Prof. Susanne Pfeffer, Direktorin des Museums für Moderne Kunst, Frankfurt am Main
Christoph Ruckhäberle, Künstler, Leipzig
Dr. Andrea Schlieker, Ausstellungsdirektorin an der Tate Britain, London


The exhibition is made possible by the Donors’ Circle for the Pauli Prize.


(Fig.: Winner of the Prize of the Böttcherstraße 2022: Karimah Ashadu, video still from Cowboy, 2022 (Detail), Kunsthalle Bremen – Der Kunstverein in Bremen, © Karimah Ashadu)